Be divorced in just 60 days.
Get started for free.. DO YOU QUALIFY?
If you want the fastest and least painful experience of marriage dissolution, then the uncontested divorce in Texas is what you’re looking for. Not every separation has to be long and painful, with thousands of dollars thrown on this legal settlement. If you and your spouse can agree on all issues, this whole process can be done in just a couple of months.
We’re here to answer all your questions, such as how long does an uncontested divorce take in Texas or can you do this without a lawyer. If you’re seeking a no contest divorce in Texas and you want to learn all there is about this type of Texas divorce, take a look at our blog.
Unlike the contested divorce in Texas, an uncontested divorce is possible only if you and your spouse have no problem with pending bankruptcy or anything that could delay your case, there are no property or parenting issues, and there is no spousal maintenance. The divorce laws in TX have only a couple of requirements for filing for an uncontested split-up of a marriage -
The divorce process, in this case, can continue only if you meet these criteria. Otherwise, the state doesn’t have the jurisdiction. Make sure you start the divorce process in Texas in the right county, so you don’t waste time.
Do I have to go to court for an uncontested divorce in Texas? The answer is - you don’t. Since you agree on all grounds, there’s no need for an attorney to represent either one of you when you divorce in Texas. You will save money and time, but you will have to do some things by yourself.
If you’re wondering how to file for an uncontested divorce in Texas, you’ll have to get to know the divorce forms you have to sign. Once you’re sure that you and your spouse agree on all subjects, you can file for an uncontested divorce in Texas. Gather the following forms from the TX Courts website:
So an uncontested divorce in Texas - how long does it take? If you’re asking how long does a divorce take in Texas, the answer must contain the mandatory waiting period of sixty days. The fastest case could be sixty-one days, and the longest doesn’t apply here since these kinds of split-ups are fast and easy. However, the truth is that there is no precise answer to the question How long does an uncontested divorce take in Texas.
Once you’ve learned how to file for divorce in Texas, you need to learn the price as well. There’s a filing fee of $250 to $300 that has to be paid when you submit your paperwork. Since both parties agree, you won’t have to pay for the legal fees, and you can do all of this online. Filing for divorce online can save a lot of money.
When you’ve filed for divorce and submitted all the paperwork, you just have to wait for the sixty-day period to pass, and the court clerk will set a final hearing with the judge. Your divorce becomes final only when the judge has signed the final divorce decree. That doesn’t have to be the date of your court hearing, but it could be. If you wish to get remarried again, you’ll have to wait for 31 days after you receive the final documents from the court, according to Texas law.
If you decide to divorce during Covid and want to skip the hours of waiting in court, or you simply decided that online divorce in Texas is an easier option for you, you’re in the right place.
Texas Divorce Online has an amazing offer for couples who want to split up and agree on all grounds. Just file for divorce online and pay only $99 for the service. After you answer a few simple questions, we will prepare your divorce petition and your final divorce decree, as well as all other paperwork.
Online divorce is best done if it’s uncontested, so just contact us, file for divorce online, sign your divorce papers online, and finish this process worry-free. Contact us on any possible dilemmas you might have for your situation, such as property, children support issues, or any further information, and we'll be more than happy to assist you.