Be divorced in just 60 days.
Get started for free.DO YOU QUALIFY?
Fast. Easy. Affordable.
Two payments of $99
Have you decided to finalize your marriage or you’re considering that option? Then you might want to take a look at how to file for divorce in Texas. You can do it quickly and cheaply, and without paying for a lawyer and court fees. Here are the three simple steps you should follow to file a divorce in the state of TX.
If you’re in a rocky marriage and you’re considering ending it, know that you’re not the only one. More and more people are filing for divorce nowadays, and divorce during Covid has become a common thing. Let’s see how to get a Texas divorce and why you should file for divorce online.
If you’re thinking about filing for divorce online, you should first get all the information about what divorce laws say about your situation. Let’s begin with the seven grounds for a dissolution of marriage in the state of TX, according to the Texas Family Code:
If one of the spouses caused the divorce, you can call it fault-based, which means that the fault has to be proved with an attorney of law, and that’s a more rare situation. No-fault divorce means that the marriage became insupportable and it’s much easier to finalize. Keep in mind that you have to notify the other spouse that you filed for a divorce.
In the TX Family Code, you will see that the state legislature doesn’t recognize legal separation. That means that you can file for divorce right away, but also that you will be considered legally married until the divorce is finished.
TX is one of the 50 50 divorce states which means that it’s a "Community Property" state. If the parties are unable to reach an agreement, the court will split all of the property and debt equally. However, if the dissolution of marriage happens because of someone’s proven fault, that side will get a smaller share of the community property.
So how do you get a divorce in Texas? The petition can only be filed if one or both of the spouses had been living in TX for at least half a year. Also, at least one party must have lived in the county where you’re filing for a divorce for a minimum of ninety days.
If you’re planning on signing divorce papers online, it’s only possible if you’re having an uncontested divorce in Texas. That means that your soon-to-be ex-partner and you have agreed on everything, including child custody, division of property, and debt. This is the least stressful and expensive way to get divorced. On the other hand, contested divorce in Texas means that you’ll probably need an attorney or a mediator to guide you through this process, be it child custody and support if you’re divorcing in Texas with children or any other problem. It also means that you shouldn’t consider getting an online divorce.
One of the main reasons why people choose to end their marriage online is because they find out the answer to the question How long does a divorce take in Texas when you’re doing it in court. The divorce process in Texas has to last at least sixty days. The countdown begins when the divorce petition is filed and when you’ve both agreed on all terms.
Filing for a divorce isn't as simple and quick as getting married. There are several divorce forms that you have to sign. If there’s no need for a trial, you can find the documents you require online. Make sure you know where you should file for a divorce - some counties have different forms than the uniform list at the Texas Supreme Court. If you apply at the wrong place, it will only prolong the process.
Here are some of the basic documents:
There are also the Income Withholding Order, BVS Form, Medical Support Order, and Parenting Class Certificate if you have children.
When it comes to figuring out how much does a divorce cost in Texas, the answer can be complicated. It depends on all the issues involved, especially if we’re talking about a contested split-up. The average dissolution process costs around $15,000 to $30,000 if you do it in court, while the filing fee costs between $250 and $300. If you can’t afford it, you can complete an Affidavit of Inability of Pay. However, deciding to divorce online means that you’ll pay for the online processing fee while all the other costs will be much cheaper. With Texas divorce online, you’ll pay only $99 for one service.
The online divorce process is much more efficient and cheap, especially during the pandemic where the courts might have you wait for months before a judge hears you. Texas Divorce Online will allow you to avoid all the fees and expenses of going to court. If you decide to sign online divorce papers, you just have to finish three steps:
File for a divorce online quickly and easily with the affordable offer at Texas Divorce Online. Let us know all the information about how you and your spouse will divide property, debt, child support, visitation, and conservatorship. Then, we will prepare your paperwork, including the divorce petition and final divorce decree. You will also get legal help to finalize your case with the local District Court. Texas Divorce Online allows you to split up with no stress or big expenses.
Website Services Verified
Website services provided by duly licensed or qualified professional.
All attorney services offered are provided by duly licensed attorney in Texas
Website protects personal data by way of Secure Socket Layer encryption provided by GeoTrust.com.
Secure Login Verified
The URL when entering personal data on the website matches the domain identified as : https://www.texasdivorceonline.com
Website Compatibility Verified
The website underwent usability and compatibility testing to verify that the website functions harmoniously with various computer operating systems and different types of website browsers.
Century Legal encourages attorneys and licensed professionals to offer unbundled and/or limited representation legal services to the public. Century Legal technologies leverage the internet as a way to streamline the delivery of legal services in order to reduce costs for both the attorney and consumer. Century legal works with attorneys and other professionals who want to improve their ability to provide great services in the most efficient and effective way. By using Century Legal’s methods attorneys and licensed professionals can offer reduced rates allowing consumers professional choices. These choices protects the public from unlicensed and untrained legal service providers who prey on consumers by offering low cost services that are often inadequate for the intended legal purpose.