Be divorced in just 60 days.
Get started for free.. DO YOU QUALIFY?
The family law differs from one US state to another. Although there are many similarities, every state does have some particular rules and regulations. If you're wondering - how long do you have to be separated before divorce in Texas, we'll answer your questions in this article. Find out which steps you'll need to take and what each of them implies.
Many legal and marital experts discourage clients from a long separation period. Still, taking a break if the marriage is breaking down is often a smart step to take. During this time, both parties should think about their relationship and communicate properly to reach an understanding. However, this period can last between three to six months, but in some cases, it lasts up to three years. Ultimately, some separations don't necessarily lead to getting divorced, although the majority do. Around 80% of couples who get separated eventually file for a divorce.
In some states, you need to have the evidence to convince the court that your marriage has reached an unfixable stage due to adultery, unreasonable, or criminal behavior first. Once you collect solid proof, you won't have to wait for two years. These types of behavior are fault-based, and in those cases, the other spouse can request a court hearing. However, there's no such law in the Lone Star State. So if your prime concern is - how long do you have to be separated before you can file for divorce in Texas? - you can relax. One spouse would need to be a resident of the state for six months and a county resident for at least 90 days. If that's your case, filing a petition is smooth and easy.
Sometimes spouses can't get to a mutual agreement concerning some important separation elements. In those cases, the court has to interfere. Luckily, only 10% of married couples in the US need to resolve their legal issues and property division with the help of legal representatives and a judge.
This procedure is known to be time-consuming and expensive. The whole process can last anywhere from several months to more than a year, depending on the individual factors and conditions. Still, there's a minimum waiting period. Texas law requires that you wait at least 60 days after filing the petition before the court officially allows the dissolution.
These are the necessary steps of every divorce process in Texas you must know of:
This option is far less complicated, painful, and costly. However, to take this route, you'd have to meet the criteria listed by the state family law. Also, you should visit the TX Courts website to obtain the necessary forms. Besides the mandatory two-month waiting period, the rest of the procedure shouldn't take more than another month or two.
A no-fault divorce means that couples don't have to blame the other party in order to get divorced quickly. These end on good terms and make the entire process easier for everyone involved, children and other family members included. Moreover, you can discuss an online divorce with your partner, which is quite handy, especially if you're getting divorced during Covid.
If you're at the stage where you're uncertain about getting divorced (or reconciling), the best way to use the time on your hands is to practice patience, tolerance, and mutual respect:
There are three main types of separation:
Regardless of the category you and your spouse fall under, being separated isn't the same as being divorced. Although you chose to live in different homes and lead separate lives, you are still formally a couple. In addition to that, many people choose legal separation over divorcing. That way, they can still use some benefits, such as health insurance, or to avoid child custody and child support issues.
According to the freshest data, 10.60% of couples in Texas get divorced. Still, the main question is - how long do you have to be separated before filing for a divorce? The Lone Star State's legal regulations make the waiting period quite short and simple. Firstly, there's the mandatory cooling-off timeframe which lasts for 60 days. Additionally, if one of the spouses has been a resident of the state for half a year and a county resident for at least three months, you can file a petition and dissolve your marriage. The length of the entire process, however, varies depending on each case and its complexity. Still, when you contact the most reputable Texas divorce attorney office, you will reduce stress and ease each step.
Website Services Verified
Website services provided by duly licensed or qualified professional.
All attorney services offered are provided by duly licensed attorney in Texas
Website protects personal data by way of Secure Socket Layer encryption provided by GeoTrust.com.
Secure Login Verified
The URL when entering personal data on the website matches the domain identified as : https://www.texasdivorceonline.com
Website Compatibility Verified
The website underwent usability and compatibility testing to verify that the website functions harmoniously with various computer operating systems and different types of website browsers.
Century Legal encourages attorneys and licensed professionals to offer unbundled and/or limited representation legal services to the public. Century Legal technologies leverage the internet as a way to streamline the delivery of legal services in order to reduce costs for both the attorney and consumer. Century legal works with attorneys and other professionals who want to improve their ability to provide great services in the most efficient and effective way. By using Century Legal’s methods attorneys and licensed professionals can offer reduced rates allowing consumers professional choices. These choices protects the public from unlicensed and untrained legal service providers who prey on consumers by offering low cost services that are often inadequate for the intended legal purpose.